Tag Archives: Food History

Top Ten & Giveaway: Nacho’s Nachos by Sandra Nickel

NACHO’S NACHOS
The Story Behind the 
World’s Favorite Snack
by
Sandra Nickel
Illustrated by 
Oliver Dominguez

Genre: Picture Book / Nonfiction / Food History / Latinx Interest 
Publisher: Lee & Low Books
Publication Date: August 11, 2020
Number of Pages: 32
 Scroll down for the giveaway!

NACHO’S NACHOS is the deliciously true story about how nachos were invented—about what happened when a regular customer asked Ignacio “Nacho” Anaya for something new, and there were no chefs in the kitchen. 

 
2020 is the eightieth anniversary of the invention, and Oliver Dominguez’s illustrations transport us back to the border of the Rio Grande in 1940, when Nacho’s quick thinking resulted in a snack now eaten everywhere from Texas to Paris to Hong Kong!
CLICK TO PURCHASE:

Nachos! Nachos! Nachos!
By Sandra Nickel, author of Nacho’s Nachos

Nachos are everywhere! Ignacio Anaya’s original three-ingredient recipe is my favorite, but I’m constantly running across nacho ideas that I would love to try. At least one bite.

Some of the nachos on my list . . .

• Fried Chicken Nachos https://www.chicagotribune.com/dining/ct-eat-this-2017-honey-butter-20170611-story.html

• Greek Salad Nachos http://www.eatingwell.com/recipe/261440/greek-salad-nachos/

• Kung Pao Chicken Nachos https://healthynibblesandbits.com/kung-pao-chicken-nachos/

• Pizza Nachos https://www.delish.com/cooking/recipe-ideas/recipes/a55664/pizza-nachos-recipe/

• Reuben Nachos https://www.allrecipes.com/recipe/278282/reuben-nachos/

• Hot Dog Nachos https://www.foodandwine.com/recipes/hot-dog-nachos

• 50-Ingredient Nachos https://www.epicurious.com/recipes/food/views/epis-50-ingredient-super-bowl-nacho

• Apple Pie Nachos https://www.food.com/recipe/apple-pie-nachos-243293#activity-feed

• S’mores Nachos https://www.thedailymeal.com/coors-field-smores-nachos-recipe

• And last but not least, Tex-Mex Breakfast Waffle Nachos https://www.bonappetit.com/recipe/tex-mex-breakfast-waffle-nachos

Are you tempted? If you’d rather stay with the original, you can find the recipe I put together for Nacho’s Nachos HERE.

And, if I’ve missed a must-try nacho, please let me know!

Sandra Nickel writes books and poetry for young readers. In 2020 and 2021, she has three books coming out: Nacho’s Nachos: The Story Behind the World’s Favorite Snack (Lee & Low), The Stuff Between the Stars: How Vera Rubin Discovered Most of the Universe (Abrams), and Breaking Through the Clouds: The Sometimes Turbulent Life of Meteorologist Joanne Simpson (Abrams). Sandra’s poetry can be found in SCOOP magazine. 

 
Sandra holds an MFA from Vermont College of Fine Arts and has presented workshops on writing for children and young adults throughout Europe and the United States. Sandra has twice won the Katherine Paterson Prize for picture books.
  Website Blog  Facebook Instagram Twitter  Amazon  Goodreads 
———————————
GIVEAWAY! GIVEAWAY! GIVEAWAY!
FIVE WINNERS!  
3 Winners: Print Copy + Recipe Card; 2 Winners: Recipe Card. 
AUGUST 20-30, 2020 
(US ONLY)
CLICK TO VISIT THE LONE STAR LITERARY LIFE TOUR PAGE 
FOR DIRECT LINKS TO EACH POST ON THIS TOUR, UPDATED DAILY, 
or visit the blogs directly:

8/20/20
Author Interview
8/20/20
Sneak Peek
8/21/20
Review
8/21/20
Guest Post
8/22/20
Review
8/23/20
Author Interview
8/24/20
Review
8/25/20
Review
8/25/20
Scrapbook Page
8/26/20
Guest Post
8/27/20
Review
8/28/20
Review
8/28/20
Top Ten
8/29/20
Review
8/29/20
Review
   blog tour services provided by
  

1 Comment

Filed under Giveaway, Guest Post, Lone Star Book Blog Tours